Much Ado About Astronomy

There is so much to do and so little time to be sick right now, there’s Astronomy Camp coming up, Insect Life After School Program, Franklin’s Guides, plus I’ll need to create and host a solar eclipse viewing event as part of our requirement for having received an amazing Earth-Science Toolkit from NISE (the National Information STEM Education Network).

Still, some how I’ve managed to find both free time and work time to dedicate towards designing. I’m more involved with the Museum website, even having created my first blog entry for them: Explore Impact Craters! I’ve now been asked to do the design work for yet another exhibit, this one for audio tours, making that two exhibit designs for my resume (and Capturing Starlight has received great reviews).

I even managed to spruce up my resume after not having touched it for a year. I was so proud of the design I had made that I’m going to sell it on my etsy store. And today? Well today I once again attempted to run my first ever astrophotographs of the moon through photo editing software.

It was incredibly cumbersome trying to figure out the two photo editing software programs that came with the telescope camera. I attempted several times to edit my pictures, but just couldn’t get anything to stick or save. Today, wanting to supply my own picture of the moon for the Museum blog entry I wrote, I tasked myself once again with attempting to edit my astrophotographs, only this time I stuck with what I knew well: Photoshop!

With that being said, of course these are obviously captured and rendered by an amateur. Did I mention we had to collimate¬†our telescope ourselves (and we’re still not quite sure if we got it right)? ¬†These were also taken back in January, on an incredibly windy night, so I think the fact our telescope was never completely still did not help our image captures.

Nonetheless, it’s never wise for any artist to criticize their own work before presenting it, so without further ado, here are four up close and personal shots of our lovely Moon!

laluna3laluna1laluna2laluna4

 

Leave a Reply

