Luna, Mars, Venus

Tracking in astronomy is not easy, but well worth it, and I’ll be the first to admit I need to dedicate more time doing so!

It just so happens, before Venus, and eventually Mars, dips below the horizon as the night blankets our skies, these three heavenly bodies align in such a way that diagonal lines become something of importance again. The Moon, or Luna, is in its wonderful waxing phase, meaning it’s well on its way to becoming a full moon, making for an even more remarkable sight.

Now I originally wrote this post Thursday evening, just after I took the picture looking towards west – but as any Fairpoint customer will tell you – I didn’t have internet last night. I went ahead and looked forward into time by viewing¬†Stellarium,¬†and sure enough, this Friday night you can in fact still catch these three (almost) perfectly aligned.

Luna Mars VenusSee full size image here.

This month marks the Worm Moon, and you can catch the full moon on March 12, Sunday. Of course, this whole year, get out there each evening to catch Venus illuminating brightly even through the mildest of clouds when no other objects shine through.

PS. I purposefully downgraded from an iPhone 5 to an iPhone 4s years ago – I can tell you I certainly will be cashing in my free upgrade very soon here so I can capture much nicer night sky photos!

May the force be with you.

Leave a Reply

