The Year of Astronomy

Not many people know, because not many a soul has heard the tale spun of the childhood that was once mine, by all accounts I shouldn’t be living today.

No doctor could truly figure out what was wrong with me as an infant. Keeping me alive was at times a round the hour job for several nurses, doctors, and staff. Eventually, after accumulating two years of the first three years of my life in that hospital, I’d grow an immune system and venture forth into the world.

I’m not exactly writing this for story telling, but quite simply to give my own self a slap in the face. I just have not been appreciating all that I have and all that I’m blessed with.

But I am my own worst judge, and I’ll be the first to admit: I am often overworked yet I still wish I could do a lot less whining. It’s just part of my human condition, one that I’m realizing as I grow older is more of a shared thing in common than most of us ever care to admit.

If there’s any drive or will to believe I’m here for a purpose, looking back on my entire life and realizing there have been little signs all along, astronomy was always there reminding me there will always be higher, grander, more significant purposes to my life than I ever imagined. Right now, being involved and having so much revolved around me dealing with our cosmos is phenomenal.

It’s not often I write about personal things, so for your efforts in reading, here’s a zoomed up iPhone 4s camera shot of Venus over Waterford, Vermont mountains. I know, such a technological device, you’re welcome!

Venus Over Waterford, VT
Click to enlarge.

Lastly, if you follow along with Sabra’s Snapshots you know I perform planetarium shows. If you are an astronomy fan, explorer, or expert, then you must know all the hub bub about the discoveries of the wonderous TRAPPIST1 dwarf star system. I’ll be featuring the captivating full dome production clip in the Evening Sky shows I perform, so here’s some eye candy for you from the none other European Southern Observatory:

One thought on “The Year of Astronomy

  1. Wow. Thanks for sharing your story. It’s stories like yours, and onea from my own life, that remind me, too, that whining and complaining is fine, but it’s better to take breaks when you need to, but keep moving, even if you’re stumbling, forward. Thanks for the kick. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

