Ancient Insect Mythology

For the new year, my host site, Fairbanks Museum & Planetarium, has switched their theme from ocean life to insect life!

Classes, after school programs, events, the nature preschool, and even William Eddy Lecture Series will feature all things crawling, flying, and pollinating. For me, I got to create two new original classes to provide to over a dozen schools and organizations who sign up for our classes and visit us.

Featuring mythological stories ranging from Native American to more recent Chinese Dynasties, from cicadas to honey bees, Ancient Insect Mythology focuses on four specific stories. Creating this class was a piece of cake actually, there were so many different myths to chose from about insects, I had to pick and chose wisely for the only hour long class! Applicable to first – eighth grade, this is an ideal class for the middle elementary students who are being introduced to more history and the concept of mythology.

Below, you’ll find snapshots of just a few slides from my class presentation. Showing all 50 slides would just take far too long, so I hope you enjoy some of my favorite pictures I used  in the slides, like that of the Blackfoot Tribe story and of my own snapshot of a freshly hatched cicada from July 2016.

These images were found using Ecosia’s search engine.

The best part of the class, one I knew would be a hit, was really honing in on the fact in our modern age we have our own myths and stories about insects, too! With this slide, students were instructed to tell me who they recognized, and many giggles ensued!

myth13

I was fortunate enough to first teach this class to 6th grade, and although very sleepy eyed that early in the morning, they loved every bit of it. Did you know why Jiminy Cricket is named Jiminy? When Pinocchio wishes upon a star, Jiminy originates from the Gemini Constellation!

It’s a good thing this class was such a hit with its first run, I’ll be teaching it four times this week! Next up? The Spider Enigma…

myth14

3 thoughts on “Ancient Insect Mythology

Leave a Reply

