Upcoming Planetarium Show

Word is getting around the area… “there’s a new show at the Planetarium… you hear Fairbanks has a new Planetarium show… there’s going to be a new show about the International Space Station you know…”

From radio, newspapers, to social media, some of the Fairbanks Museum staff have dropped a word here or there about my new production, All Aboard The I.S.S.!

For publications sake, All Aboard The International Space Station is a little long, but throughout the show I’ll be focusing on the the Expedition Crews, stay current with weekly research they’re working on, and display beautiful photographs and full dome videos of views of Earth from the station!

I’d be a liar if I said I wasn’t completely nervous, but I am entirely grateful I know what to expect going into a new planetarium show given this is my second production. Where Stars Are Born certainly has evolved over time, and it’s exciting having taken on the entire Lyman Spitzer Jr. Planetarium* Saturday schedule to both stretch the original half hour nebula show into a full hour¬†and really test my astronomical knowledge by finally performing a live 3:30 Evening Sky show (which focuses more on constellations and current astronomical events, eg, a little bit more involved).

Astronomy isn’t easy. It’s fascinating, captivating, incredibly motivating and uplifting, it’s just supercalfragilisticexpialidocious. But it’s not easy. Knowing it’ll probably be a full house (the Museum has been closed for three weeks updating and upgrading), wish me the best of luck (and thank goodness it’s just a half hour show)!

P.S. I promise there will be more non astronomy posts soon!

* This is a page I operate, feel free to ask any questions.
3 thoughts on “Upcoming Planetarium Show

    1. It went really well! New planetarium productions are usually initially a work in progress so there’s just a bit more fine tuning, but the whole aim is to get other people as excited about everything the I.S.S. concerns and so far I think I’m reaching that goal! Also like Where Stars Are Born (which was originally half an hour long), there wasn’t enough time to talk about everything I wanted to talk about the I.S.S.! People loved the spanning over Earth videos, but I got the most awes over the very large diagram identifying the modules and trusses funny enough – adults really appreciated having that knowledge!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. That’s great. The couple of times I’ve spoken in planetariums I’ve found the same thing. It’s always the adults who seem to get really into the presentation, slow down the talk (in a good way) and want to stick around to talk and ask questions afterward. Kids are interested, too, but it’s the adults, like you say, who seem to really appreciate it deeply. It’s those sorts of things that makes me feel really optimistic in the future of science. It’s all around us. People are interested. If people like you can help drive that inspiration and have it get from the parents to the kids, there’s no stopping them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

